Skip to content

Three cheers for the Free Market!

April 21, 2010

I seem to be writing more about limited government than the free market but the two go hand in hand and today I’ve been reflecting on the marketplace.

This morning I went to the orthodontist to have a plastic retainer re-made. Everyone was friendly and helpful. They made a plaster impression of my upper teeth and I had a choice of flavors in the plaster. Wow! Never had that before. I was expecting 2-3 minutes for the plaster to set but a new plaster sets in only 30 seconds. They made the retainer right then and there so I didn’t have to come back. On the way out I was looking for the restroom and the receptionist not only told me where it was, she almost jumped out of her chair to get up and point the way.

Next I went to the printer to have some books printed. The owner, seeing his sales staff were busy, came over to help me out. In the process, he invited me to an open house they were having on Saturday to celebrate their move to a new office building and to raise money for three local charities including the high school booster club. They weren’t sure whether they could have the books ready for me by tomorrow afternoon but later in the day I got a call saying they were ready–ahead of schedule.

Then I stopped by the bank–Wells Fargo.  You know, the one that didn’t want the TARP money. They greeted me as soon as I walked in the door as they always do. (Does that ever happen at the DMV?) Then a teller, who had been doing something else, waited at the window while I filled out the deposit slip.

These are all local businesses (or a local branch in the case of Wells Fargo) and they know I can take my business elsewhere. They appreciate my patronage and make me feel as though I want to come back again.

Customer service, innovation, quality work: when was the last time you experienced that at any government agency?

Thank God for the half of the economy that isn’t government-controlled. Come November, let’s liberate some more!

One Comment
  1. Jan T permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:32 pm

    That is what I like in our American culture, and what folks coming from other countries like to experience. Informality, openness, equality, efficiency and personal control over fate and environment.

Comments are closed.

