Skip to content

Top Libertarian Blogs

May 10, 2010

The Humble Libertarian, whose link you will find on the right, has released a list of the Top 100 Libertarian Blogs and websites on the web. The Cato Institute, which I like a lot is number one and true to its name, the Humble Libertarian lists itself as number 100.

Reclaim the Blue did not make that list but did make a list of Other Cool Libertarian Blogs.

If you had told me even two years ago that I was libertarian, I wouldn’t have believed you. This despite the fact that I taught political science and believe wholeheartedly in the writing of Locke and the Founders. I always believed that I was politically “moderate” or “middle of the road” and perhaps at one point in our country’s history I might have been. But the 60s radicals who I didn’t like back then have been busy undermining the foundations of our Republic for decades. I haven’t moved and at its core, I don’t believe the country has either.

Libertarianism isn’t about legalizing marijuana–it’s about Liberty. I’m still a social conservative but I believe we have no more right to use the power of government to coerce people into our way of thinking than the Marxist left does. I’m for a free market: that’s economic liberty. Government is best which governs least: that’s political liberty.

Since 2009 libertarians, conservatives, the unaffiliated and the politically unaware have come together in what the formerly mainstream media calls the tea party movement but which is in reality the Liberty Movement.

Libertarians and libertarian thought have been foundational in this movement and I am proud to be a part of it.

Comments are closed.

