Skip to content

Step up, Tea Partiers

June 7, 2010

Events of the past two weeks have brought home for me the need to take the outrage, the energy, the patriotism, the convictions of the newly-created liberty activists to the next level.

Ordinary, conservative, every-day, hard-working Americans have already stepped outside their comfort zone by going to Tea Parties, organizing in 9-12 groups, joining Constitution study groups, emailing, writing, faxing and calling their elected representatives. Nobody’s home, folks.

It is time to stop lobbying the current office holders. They’re not listening to us: they’re listening to big unions, big business, and their centralized party apparatchiks. But don’t take it from me, listen to Dennis Prager at the University of Denver just two weeks ago, on the evening of the state assemblies:

In the words of the immortal Pogo, “We have met the enemy and he is us.” Barack Obama is not the problem; George Soros is not the problem. We the People who have allowed them to have power and influence over us are the problem.

As Prager pointed out and as Glenn Beck points out, this has been going on a long time. We’re not going to fix it overnight; I hope to see tangible progress in my lifetime.

This week I have planned a series of blog posts highlighting what we need to do in the next five months to save our republic and restore liberty.

I’m in this for the long haul. Are you?

3 Comments
  1. June 7, 2010 1:14 pm

    Al,

    Good for you for taking the approach of focusing on the solution, and not just the problem. This is a big theme for me, too. As blogger-activists, we are not mere “reporters” or even pundits (the latter a lot more fun than “reporter”) but we need to do things and get out to readers what can be done.

    I’m on board, and have already planned to have a big focus on what can be done to reform the Colorado judicial branch this summer, and at least through the November election. I’m looking forward to seeing your posts and taking action too.

  2. June 7, 2010 8:11 pm

    Thanks again, Laura: I think blogger-activist is a great title. I was never comfortable that as a blogger I was identified as a reporter. I’m more of a political theorist–which might make me a pundit except that I believe in action.

    Unfortunately, as good as we think these ideas are, they attract fewer readers than juicy campaign details. I have a series of related posts set up for this week so I’m prepared for a dive in readership.

  3. June 7, 2010 8:16 pm

    Our blogging colleague, Don Johnson, is ahead of all media in the state on juicy campaign details. He’s got that covered, and not merely in a lurid way. He’s trying to extract a little bit of substance out of our GOP senate candidates.

    Division of labor is at the heart of the free market system. I’m really looking forward to your series.

Comments are closed.

